Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card Trade Paperback by Sara Saedi - Teens Books

Add to wishlist

You must be logged
  • Out-of-Stock
Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card Trade Paperback by Sara Saedi - Teens Books
search
  • Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card Trade Paperback by Sara Saedi - Teens Books
  • Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card Trade Paperback by Sara Saedi - Teens Books
  • Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card Trade Paperback by Sara Saedi - Teens Books
9780525578451
₱489.00
Out-of-Stock
Quantity
0 stocks available
Qty:

Add to wishlist

You must be logged

 

Safe and Secure Checkout

  Delivery policy

(edit with the Customer Reassurance module)

  Return policy

(edit with the Customer Reassurance module)

Safe and Secure Checkout
Safe and Secure Checkout

You can pay through:

Delivered In:

* Delivery to Metro Manila addresses may take up to 3-5 working days. Provincial deliveries may take 7 working days or longer.

* Not Applicable for Pre-Order or Special Order Items

* Deliveries during sale promotions and holiday seasons may take longer than usual.

* National Book Store may postpone processing and deliveries in case of flood and other natural disasters to ensure the safety of its personnel.

Any questions:

Call us (632) 8-8888-627

Operations Hours:

Mon-Sun 8AM-8PM

About this item

In development as a television series from Reese Witherspoon's Hello Sunshine production company and ABC Studios!

This hilarious, poignant and true story of one teen's experience growing up in America as an undocumented immigrant from the Middle East is an increasingly necessary read in today's divisive world. Perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling and Trevor Noah's books.


“Very funny but never flippant, Saedi mixes ‘90s pop culture references, adolescent angst and Iranian history into an intimate, informative narrative.” —The New York Times

At thirteen, bright-eyed, straight-A student Sara Saedi uncovered a terrible family secret: she was breaking the law simply by living in the United States. Only two years old when her parents fled Iran, she didn't learn of her undocumented status until her older sister wanted to apply for an after-school job, but couldn't because she didn't have a Social Security number.

Fear of deportation kept Sara up at night, but it didn't keep her from being a teenager. She desperately wanted a green card, along with clear skin, her own car, and a boyfriend.

Americanized follows Sara's progress toward getting her green card, but that's only a portion of her experiences as an Iranian-"American" teenager. From discovering that her parents secretly divorced to facilitate her mother's green card application to learning how to tame her unibrow, Sara pivots gracefully from the terrifying prospect that she might be kicked out of the country at any time to the almost-as-terrifying possibility that she might be the only one of her friends without a date to the prom. This moving, often hilarious story is for anyone who has ever shared either fear.

FEATURED ON NPR'S FRESH AIR
A NYPL BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR
A CHICAGO PUBLIC LIBRARY BEST OF THE BEST BOOK SELECTION
A SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR
FOUR STARRED REVIEWS!

“A must-read, vitally important memoir. . . . Poignant and often LOL funny, Americanized is utterly of the moment.”—Bustle

“Read Saedi's memoir to push out the poison.”—Teen Vogue

“A funny, poignant must read for the times we are living in today.”—Popsugar

Product details

9780525578451

Data sheet

Article
100000136287
ISBN
Author Name
Publisher
RANDOM HOUSE, INC.
Origin
Sara Saedi
Book Format
Trade Paperback
Weight
0.31kg
Length
21cm
Width
14cm
Height
1.8cm